Kosher 101: What is a kosher ingredient?
1 min read
A kosher ingredient is one that is certified by a reputable kosher certification agency and approved for use by the OK.
- Receiving: The receiving department must check all incoming ingredients for kosher products to ensure that they are on the approved ingredient list and conform to the specifications on the kosher certificate (i.e. kosher symbol on package, bulk certificate, lot number, etc.).
- Production: Only approved kosher ingredients with the correct designation (meat, dairy, pareve, or Passover) can be used in the production of kosher products.